July 17, 2009

Municipal Filing

Candidate filing for the Nov. Municipal Elections closed at noon today. Dare County Board of elections published a list quickly on their web site.
Nags Head has the most interesting races with Bob Oakes challenging incumbent Mayor Renee Cahoon and 4 filers for 2 seats on the Board of Commissioners, Joe Maione, Doug Remaley, Anna Sadler and Will Woodard. Remaley and Sadler are incumbents neither of the other 2 has run for office in town before. Bob Oakes is an incumbent Commissioner with two years remaining on his term. Should he lose he would remain on the board, should he win his vacant seat would be filled by the Board of Commissioners.
The big surprise here is the number of challengers for the Commissioner seats. 2 years ago there was no opposition for Oakes and Commissioner Wayne Gray when they ran for reelection.
The other interesting race is in Southern Shores where former Councilman and fellow blogger Dan Sanders is challenging Mayor Don Smith. Sanders and Smith were on opposite sides of the Southern Shores Volunteer Fire Dept. fight 2 years ago.
Kill Devil Hills and Kitty Hawk will keep their Mayors. Both Ray Sturza and long time elected official Clifton Perry will run unopposed. Like wise the current KH and KDH Commissioners running for reelection have no challengers. Bob Woodard and Paul Buske in KDH and Robert Reid and Gary Perry in KDH are assured reelection.
SS Commissioner Brian MacDonald is in the same boat as the only candidate for his seat on the Council.
In Duck, where every elected official is up for election every 2 years there are 6 candidates for 5 seats on the Board.
In Manteo Mayor Jamie Daniels and Commissioners Christine Etheridge, David Farrow and Richard Burke are all unopposed in their bids for reelection.



Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home